Winterizing, dividing and mulching your gardens

For Dragonflies and Me is a wonderful and informative site. Be sure and visit Jean Smith’s blog and “like” her Facebook page so that you won’t miss a single post. You will be glad you did. -Karie Engels

For Dragonflies And Me

August is the time of year when I neglect my flower gardens most. With all the hustle and bustle of preserving the bounty, my days are filled with the harvest and ‘putting up’. I love it all though… this garden bounty between the can shelves, freezers and jars of dried herbs. We’ve sown and now we’re reaping.

DPP_0002

So now that Septembers arrived, lets talk about preparing for next years gardens. First off, I always draw my plans for both my vegetable gardens garden’s as well as my flower beds. I like to keep reminders of what I need to plant where and when along with other pertinent info that I would otherwise forget.

DPP_0020

There are several things to consider when winterizing, dividing and mulching your gardens.

DPP_0009

Now’s the time to start to plant fall bulbs and garlic.. You have until mid October but the temps are getting colder. Keep posted on a how and…

View original post 545 more words

Please feel free to comment

